P1020471

This is my interpretation of Sara Lewis’ recipe in the marvellous The Complete Slow Cooker. I’ve substituted dry-frying for her butter, and because we’re in a low-cal state of mind, I’m using skinless chicken breasts instead of chicken and drumstick joints. If I use bacon, I cut off the fat; and sometimes substitute lean ham.

Ingredients

  • 2 free-range chicken portions
  • 2 rashers lean bacon
  • 1 leek
  • 1 tblsp cornflour
  • 500ml chicken stock
  • 2 teaspoons wholegrain mustard
  • green beans

Dry-fry the chicken, add the bacon and leek. Cook until beginning to turn golden. Stir in the cornflour and then add the chicken stock and mustard.

Transfer to the slow-cooker. Cook on ‘low’ for 8-10 hours. Add the green beans 20 minutes before you are ready to eat.

If not using the slow cooker, bake in a casserole for 30 minutes.

Sara Lewis suggests serving with mashed potatoes.

SERVES 2

