P1010981

It is pretty chilly today, so I’m inspired to make a real winter-warmer. This veggie shepherd’s pie is stuffed full of vegetables, so it has the advantage of making me feel rather virtuous – I’ll definitely be getting my five-a-day today.  I’ll probably be the only one in the family to eat this (after all it has tomatoes and red wine in it), so it will be great for me to dip into throughout the week.

Ingredients

For the base

  • 1 leek
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 1 stick of celery
  • 250g punnet of mushrooms
  • 1 courgette
  • 75g green lentils
  • 400g tin of chopped tomatoes
  • a good splash of red wine
  • 500ml vegetable stock

For the topping

  • 2 baking potatoes
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • an optional knob of butter and a splash of milk

The base

Quickly fry the vegetables then add the lentils and the liquids. Simmer for about twenty minutes or until the lentils are soft.

The topping

Cook, mash, and spread over the base. Need I say more?

Bake in the oven until the top looks nicely browned. Ketchup is allowed with this meal.

SERVES 4-6

