P1020078

Another day, another meal from The Hairy Dieters. I have made something similar to this before, and thought I had invented it, but as someone clever* once said, “there is no such thing as a new idea”. So here’s a diet version of an old recipe.

I did have a little play around with the ingredients – I used turkey steaks instead of chicken, because I found them in the freezer. Instead of smoked ham, I have used a glazed ham which I made for New Year and had to portion off and freeze because Jim went on a diet immediately after, and the children decided they didn’t like it. I played around with some of Dave and Si’s instructions just for the hell of it. But, I very seriously tried to keep to their portion controls for the sake of the calorie count, which I am told is 429 calories per portion. I also made a vegetarian version for me, which I will post separately.

The ingredients and portions belong mostly to the Hairy Dieters. The instructions are my own.

Ingredients

For the filling

  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • 1 medium leek, trimmed and cut into thin slices
  • 100ml white wine
  • 150ml chicken stock
  • 4 turkey steaks, about  375g (The Hairy Dieters use 1 kg cooked whole chicken)
  • 100g sliced smoked ham
  • 2 tsp cornflour
  • 300g half-fat creme fraiche
  • freshly ground black pepper

For the topping

  • 3 sheets of filo pastry each about 38 x 30 cm
  • 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 tsp sunflower oil

The filling

Dry-fry the leeks, onion and garlic over a low heat until soft. Remove from heat and tip into a bowl.

Dry-fry the chicken and ham. Add the white wine and reduce. Add the stock.

Mix two teaspoons of cornflour with a little cold water. Add to the chicken and ham mixture. Bring to a slow boil. Pour in the cooked vegetables and stir. Cool slightly and add the creme fraiche.  Pour into your pie dish.

The topping

Scrunch the filo sheets over your pie. Brush with a light coat of oil.

Bake at 200C for 30-35 minutes until the pasty is crisp, and the filling bubbling. No need for potatoes or rice – I served with broccoli.

SERVES 5 if you are doing the 1kg chicken thing. I’ve assumed it serves 2-3 my way, so obviously I’ve messed up the calorie count. That’s why Dave and Si say to be careful to weigh out your ingredients properly and not to mess with the recipe.

*It was Mark Twain, Smartypants.

