P1020104

Tomorrow is Bug Club day and I’m going to be standing about in the cold for a long time with lots of energetic children and their chilly parents. I thought I’d bring this along to cheer up the Mums and Dads. It is too boozy for the children, so they’re just going to have to run around, unfortunately.

This is Angela Hartnett’s recipe from A Taste of Home. I don’t have rum so I’m using brandy. And I’m a little low on caster sugar so I’m going to supplement it with demerara.

Ingredients

  • 100g sultanas
  • 75ml rum
  • 4 small ripe bananas
  • 175g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 25g butter
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 60g walnuts, roughly chopped

Soak the sultanas in the alcohol for at least 3 hours, or preferably over night.

Set the oven to 170C / Fan 150C.

Grease and line a bread tin.

Melt the butter, and mix it with the sugar in a large bowl. Beat in the eggs, then add bananas, walnuts, sultanas and rum.

Sieve the flour with the baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt. Stir it into the batter.

Spoon the mixture into the tin and bake for 45-60 minutes (do the skewer test).

Please note: In the book we are told to use 125g flour, but there was an amendment when the recipe was later published in The Guardian, which does seem to work.

