P1020130

I make these for the children, but the only reason I don’t give them to Jim is that they are a little bit fatty. Though to be honest he always hovers about with his tongue hanging out in a wolfish way when I take them out of the oven.

Ingredients

  • 250g mince
  • 30g (about one slice) breadcrumbs (sometimes I use rice)
  • 1 1/2 inch leek
  • 1/2 clove of garlic
  • 1 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 1 egg
  • a little oil for frying

Set the oven to 200C

Put the bread, leek, garlic and parsley into a food processor and whizz down until the bread is properly crumbed.

Pour into a bowl with the mince.

Add the egg, to bind it all together.

Give it a good mix (hands are best) and make into balls.

Fry until golden on the outside, then bake in the oven for 15 minutes.

I would like to serve these with spaghetti and a lovely, healthy, tomato sauce, but my children have decided they won’t eat it. So instead they get spaghetti and gravy, with broccoli on the side.

MAKES 12, which is enough for two meals for my two children. They are a staple of my freezer.

I use the other half of a packet of mince to make a bolognese sauce, which I portion off and freeze – I can get another three meals (for two children) out of that.

