P1020159

This muffin making seems to be becoming a habit. I have made these as a thank you to my friends Dave and Jo. Little do they realise that they are part of my Great Muffin Experiment. I don’t usually use butter in muffins, but I ran out of oil so I did a little mixing. Also there’s more flour than usual here, but I’m hoping that the orange juice and blueberries will stop the muffins from being too dry.

Ingredients

  • 100ml vegetable oil
  • 50g melted butter
  • zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 2 eggs
  • 50ml milk
  • 275g self-raising flour
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 150g  blueberries
  • a sprinkle of demerara sugar to finish

Set the oven to 180C.

Whisk together the oil, melted butter and the juice. Whisk like crazy. Add the eggs and whisk some more. Add the melted butter and eggs and the oil. Add the sugar and whisk again. Then add the milk, and do a little more whisking.

Sieve in the flour and baking powder, then the sugar.  Stir well. Then add the blueberries and give one last, gentle stir before spooning into muffin cases.

Sprinkle a little demerara sugar over the top, and bake for 20-25 minutes.

MAKES 12

