P1020180

These are Jamie Oliver’s tuna meatballs (le migliori polpette di tonno) from Jamie Does…  and the recipe is here on his website. I’ve made these before, and absolutely loved them. But to be honest, this time, I found it a little bit tricky. I had ball collapse. I halved the recipe, and I think I may have got a bit confused with the proportions (what, you have to divide by two?). Also, I think the pine nuts could have benefited by being chopped a little. I (rightly I think) roasted the pine nuts in advance, which wasn’t in the recipe.

The end result however, was absolutely wonderful. I really love the texture of the pine nuts, and although it’s a three-pan-meal and I splashed the walls with the tomato sauce when I was whizzing it up, it was well worth the effort.

I wasn’t going to bother including the recipe, because it is available here already. But I thought I’d include the ingredients, just for my own reference.

Ingredients

The tomato sauce

  • olive oil
  • 1 small onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 x 400g tinned tomatoes
  • red wine vinegar
  • 1 small bunch fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • salt and pepper

The meatballs

  • olive oil
  • 400g tuna
  • 55g toasted pine nuts
  • 1 level teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 handful fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 100g stale breadcrumbs
  • 25g Parmesan
  • 2 free-range eggs
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper

SERVES 4
 

