This is a meal that I tend to do when I’m home alone. Its a no-fuss, let’s see what we have kind of meal. And I’m the only one that likes tinned tomatoes.

IMG_2585

 

You can play around with any of the ingredients, so long as you have fish, veg, and tinned tomatoes.

Here’s the basics:

  • 1 onion
  • 1/2 leek
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1-2 cans of tomatoes
  • 2 frozen fish fillets – I tend to go for basa or haddock. You can add fresh salmon towards the end of cooking time.
  • chopped anchovies
  • capers
  • olives
  • chilli flakes
  • king prawns or clams (in their shells)
  • green beans
  • frozen peas
  • chopped asparagus
  • sliced ginger
  • sliced kale
  • some basil leaves
  • parsley

You can be very flexible with the ingredients. I gently fry the onion and garlic, then add the tinned tomatoes.

I put the fish in frozen – it takes bout 20 minutes to cook though.

Then I add frozen peas, capers and olives

Add the veg and prawns, with a mind to cooking times, and finally the basil – or parsley

If I have rice or pasta cooked, that’s fine. Otherwise it is lovely in a bowl, eaten with a spoon, in front of the TV.

 

